MEDINA CITY COUNCIL

January 6, 2014 Special Session - Organizational Meeting

Opening:

After due notice according to law, Medina City Council met in special, open session January 6, 2014. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by President of Council John Coyne who also led the pledge of allegiance.

Invocation:

The invocation was offered by Father Tony Sejba of St. Francis Xavier Church.

Oaths of Office:

Dennis T. Hanwell, Mayor by Judge Kevin W. Dunn (Bible held by Chris Hanwell) Keith H. Dirham, Director of Finance by Judge Kevin W. Dunn Brian D. Hilberg, Ward 1 Councilman by Rev. Cornell Carter (Bible held by Mary Hilberg) Mark E. Kolesar, Ward 3 Councilman by Margie Kolesar (Bible held by Megan Kolesar) Paul Rose, Sr., by Paul Rose, Jr. (Son)

Roll Call:

President Coyne called for the roll call and the following members of Council were present: J. Coyne, B. Hilberg, M. Kolesar, B. Lamb, P. Rose, J. Shields, and D. Simpson.

Confirmation of Council Committee Appointments by President of Council:

Airport Commission – Bill Lamb (expiring 12/31/17)

President Coyne read the President of Council Appointments (see attached exhibit A). Mr. Shields moved to approve the appointments as presented, seconded by Mr. Simpson. The roll was called and the appointments were approved by the yea votes of B. Hilberg, M. Kolesar, B. Lamb, P. Rose, J. Shields, D. Simpson, and J. Coyne.

Confirmation of Council Appointments:

President of Council Pro-Tem – James A. Shields (expiring 12/31/15)

Mr. Coyne entertained a motion for the nomination of President of Council Pro-Tem.

Mr. Simpson moved to nominate Mr. Shields as President of Council Pro-Tem, seconded by Mr. Kolesar. The roll was called and the appointment was approved by the yea votes of M. Kolesar, B. Lamb, P. Rose, J. Shields, D. Simpson, J. Coyne, and B. Hilberg.

Cable Access – Bill Lamb (expiring 12/31/15) Income Tax Review Board – Keith Hughes (expiring 12/31/14) Planning Commission – Paul Rose (expiring 12/31/17) Pro QA Steering Committee – Paul Rose (Health, Safety Chair) Tax Incentive Review Council – Brian Hilberg (expiring 12/31/14) MCDAC Board – Dolly Yowler (expiring 12/31/16)

Mr. Coyne read the other Council appointments listed above. Mr. Shields moved to approve the Council appointments as presented, seconded by Mr. Simpson. The roll was called and the

MEDINA CITY COUNCIL

Special Session, Organizational Meeting

appointments were approved by the yea votes of B. Lamb, P. Rose, J. Shields, D. Simpson, J. Coyne, B. Hilberg, and M. Kolesar.

Confirmation of Mayoral Appointments:

Gregory A. Huber, Director of Law (15) Nino Piccoli, Service Director Jonathan Mendel, Planning and Community Development Director Michael Wright, Recreation Center Director Kimberly Rice, Economic Development Director Jansen Wehrley, Parks Director Bill Shockley – Economic Development Committee (12/31/16) Patrick Patton – Transportation Improvement District (12/31/15) Nino Piccoli – Transportation Improvement District (Alternate) (12/31/15) John Coyne – JEDD Board Medina Rep. (15) Jon Burkart – JEDD Board Rep. of Persons Working in District (14)

President Coyne read the Mayor's appointment as presented above. Mr. Shields moved to confirm the Mayor's appointments seconded by Mr. Simpson. The roll was called and the appointments were confirmed by the yea votes of P. Rose, J. Shields, D. Simpson, J. Coyne, B. Hilberg, M. Kolesar, and B. Lamb.

Consideration of Council Rules:

Mr. Shields moved to re-adopt Section 111.12, the Rules of Council, seconded by Mr. Simpson. Mr. Shields moved to amend Section 111.12 with the changes presented on the attached sheet. The role was called on the amendment and approved by the yea votes of D. Simpson, J. Coyne, B. Hilberg, M. Kolesar, B. Lamb, P. Rose, and J. Shields. The roll was called on the readoption of Section 111, the Rules of Council as amended and was approved by the yea votes of J. Coyne, B. Hilberg, M. Kolesar, B. Lamb, P. Rose, J. Shields, and D. Simpson.

Adjournment:

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Kathy Patton, Clerk of Council

John M. Coyne, President of Council